Dehydrator Onion Rings

I was in the mood for a new recipe – something naughty that I remembered from my fat years. I wanted the flavor, not the fat so I tiptoed around the internet seeking out an onion ring recipe I could wow the fam with.

I found the perfect recipe at Raw Food Recipes - by Susan Powers. I had the dehydrator all set up and ready and I was psyched! Ingredients list: check!

Now, let me start by saying that I was eager to try this recipe, but not completely hopeful (*gasp!*) that it would taste like my old A&W favs. How could they without that glorious deep fried, carinogenic flavor?

I made the attempt anyway…..without trial, you are guaranteed failure!

Almond Milk:

* 1 C soaked almonds

* 4 C water
 

Onion rings

* 1 Large Onion

* 4 C Almond Milk

* 3/4 C Almond Milk Pulp

* 1 C Ground Flax (3/4 C before grinding)

* 1 T. Smoked Paprika

* 1/2 t Ground Chipotle

* 1/2 t Salt

Methods/steps

Almond Milk:

1) Combine soaked almonds and water in blender. Strain through nut milk bag. Save the pulp and dehydrate it.

Onion rings

1) Slice onions and place in zip lock bag with almond milk. Soak while pulp is dehydrating.

2) When pulp is done dehydrating, place in food processor with flax, spices and salt. Separate into two batches. If you use all of it at once, a lot of it will be come saturated and too wet to use. Splitting it into separate batches protects against waste.

3) Drain onion rings, RESERVING milk.

4) Dip onion ring in the milk, then in the almond flax mixture, dip in milk once again and then in almond flax mixture again to get a heavier coating.

5) Dehydrate for 6 to 8 hours until almost dry. You want the onions to retain a little moisture, the breading should be dry.

Additional Tips

Make sure to use a mild, sweet tasting variety of onion for this recipe!

I’m not an onion expert and I can’t even claim to know the difference between any of them, so I used the onions we had on hand. Seemed logical.

Sliced up, my dehydrator holds one whole onion. Not bad!

 The mixture after I attacked it. I double dipped each onion ring in each coating…..y’know….just in case there wasn’t enough, it fell off or all the flavor was specifically located in the second layer. You never can be too safe.

These little devils looked delicious in the dehydrator and I must admit I caught myself drooling a little when the aroma of onion hit the room.

I was anxious to try these!

I let mine dehydrate for about 6 hours. The outside wasn’t crispy yet but I couldn’t wait anymore!

I hear this happens often in the dehydrator word – where the waiting game is trumped by your overwhelming desire to sample your dehydrated goodies early. I had to!

I was surprised at how onion ring like these were! I was impressed! If I had to choose between the old onion ring I know and love versus the dehydrator onion ring knowing how good it is for me…..I’m going with the new raw ring – hands down! It is to LIVE for!

So, on a Friday morning – toss a bunch of these delicious little suckers into your dehydrator and rock out (later that night when they are done). They make a great snack or the ‘raw’ part of your meal….and you’ll hardly know they’re good for you! Enjoy!

Love, Me

About Shawn

Exploring wellness - mind, body & soul! If it sounds simple - it is. View all posts by Shawn

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

