Mind Over Matter

I have been learning a few things in my never-ending journey. Hard to believe, I know! It has been incredible – and those who used to know me certainly would be surprised (and in utter disbelief) of who I am now. A few short years of intense evolution – mind, body and soul – and here I am. Anew! I can only attribute it to one simple thing. Mind over matter.

There are several other key elements involved, but without mind over matter – you have a big pile of not much. It takes a unity of connections within yourself. That’s the mind, body, spirit connection!

If you believe you can’t, you certainly won’t. If you believe the outcome of your endeavor will be bad – it shall be. If you know it will be positive, then you will reap positive rewards. The outcome itself doesn’t really matter much – it’s the perspective in which we look at it. Feeling nauseous? Let me elaborate…..

Two women are attending the same party.

Woman number one is excited to go, taking her time to dress for it, have her hair done and rev herself up for a great night of fun and dancing! She spends the afternoon listening to her favorite music, swaying back and forth to the melody – unaware that anyone might be watching. She is lifted by her favorite tunes – inspired. She can even feel the light kisses of the wind drifting over her skin and she appreciates it all.

Woman number two is dreading the evening. She feels fat and guilty after eating the buffet for lunch that afternoon with her work colleagues. They had sat together and mocked other women because it made them feel better about themselves. It made them forget about themselves. She would rather sit at home and watch reruns on television tonight while she shovels tablespoon after nutritionally empty tablespoon of Hagen Daaz into her frown. She needs a haircut and her feet are already swollen. She is comfortable in her sweatpants for now. Dancing? Not on the agenda for the night.

What’s the difference in these two women? It’s obvious, isn’t it? I’ll tell you a little secret – both of them are me. Shocked? Don’t be – I just finished telling you I had changed. I wasn’t kidding. Woman number one is the present me. Woman number two was the old me. I’m certain I don’t have to tell you which me I prefer.

It all starts with the belief that you can. Do one little thing for me – go back into your memory banks and figure out the answer to this simple question: Who ever told you that you couldn’t? Think about it – it is the beginnings of something wonderful!

Love, Me

 

 

About Shawn

Exploring wellness - mind, body & soul! If it sounds simple - it is. View all posts by Shawn

Leave a Reply

